Universities in Russia

Higher Education in Russia

2022 Ranking of Russia Universities

What are Russia’s most famous universities? Topuniversitieslist has published the 2022 Russian University Ranking, which includes 375 Russian higher-education institutions that fulfill the Topuniversitieslist quality criteria:

  • being chartered, registered, or certified by the relevant Russian higher education-related institution, and providing at least four-year undergraduate degrees (bachelor degrees) or postgraduate degrees (master or doctoral degrees) in a conventional, face-to-face, non-distance education style.

Investigate the Topuniversitieslist League Table and University Ranking of 375 Russian Universities.

2022 Sub-rankings by provinces and territories

There are 85 federal subjects in the Russian Federation, including republics, krais, oblasts, towns of federal importance, an autonomous oblast, and autonomous okrugs. The federal cities of Moscow and Saint Petersburg are home to the overwhelming majority of higher education institutions that follow the Topuniversitieslist listing criterion. Both federal subjects of at least two Russian higher education institutions matching the Topuniversitieslist selection criterion are included in the following Topuniversitieslist league tables or sub-rankings.

Stavropol Krai (5)
North Ossetia-Alania Republic (5)
Novosibirsk Oblast (9)
Omsk Oblast (7)
Orenburg Oblast (4)
Oryol Oblast (2)
Penza Oblast (4)
Perm Krai (5)
Primorsky Krai (5)
Republic of Karelia (2)
Rostov Oblast (7)
Ryazan Oblast (4)
Saint Petersburg (32)
Sakha Republic (2)
Samara Oblast (10)
Saratov Oblast (5)
Nizhny Novgorod Oblast (7)
Sverdlovsk Oblast (9)
Tambov Oblast (4)
Tatarstan Republic (10)
Tomsk Oblast (6)
Tula Oblast (2)
Tver Oblast (3)
Tyumen Oblast (3)
Udmurt Republic (4)
Ulyanovsk Oblast (3)
Volgograd Oblast (5)
Vologda Oblast (3)
Voronezh Oblast (6)
Yaroslavl Oblast (6)
Zabaykalsky Krai (2)
Kaliningrad Oblast (2)
Altai Krai (6)
Amur Oblast (4)
Arkhangelsk Oblast (2)
Astrakhan Oblast (4)
Bashkortostan Republic (6)
Belgorod Oblast (3)
Bryansk Oblast (3)
Buryat Republic (3)
Chelyabinsk Oblast (8)
Chuvash Republic (3)
Dagestan Republic (5)
Irkutsk Oblast (6)
Ivanovo Oblast (6)
Kabardino-Balkar Republic (2)
Adygeya Republic (2)
Kamchatka Krai (2)
Kemerovo Oblast (5)
Khabarovsk Krai (6)
Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Okrug – Yugra (3)
Kirov Oblast (3)
Komi Republic (2)
Krasnodar Krai (5)
Krasnoyarsk Krai (6)
Kursk Oblast (3)
Lipetsk Oblast (3)
Mari El Republic (2)
Moscow (68)
Moscow Oblast (3)
Murmansk Oblast (2)