Universities in Tanzania

Higher Education in Tanzania

2022 Ranking of Tanzania Universities

What are Tanzania’s most famous universities? Topuniversitieslist attempts to address this issue by releasing the Tanzanian University Ranking for 2022, which includes 32 Tanzanian higher-education institutions that fulfill the Topuniversitieslist selection criteria:

offering at least four-year undergraduate degrees (bachelor degrees) or postgraduate degrees (master or doctoral degrees) delivered primarily in a conventional, face-to-face, non-distance education format and being chartered, certified, or approved by the relevant Tanzanian higher education-related institution

Discover the Topuniversitieslist League Table and University Rankings for 32 Tanzanian Universities.

2022 Sub-rankings by provinces and territories

Tanzania is divided into 31 regions (mikoa in Swahili), each of which is further subdivided into 169 districts (Swahili: wilaya). The area of Dar es-Salaam, which hosts Tanzania’s largest city and former capital, has the highest concentration of higher education institutions that follow the Topuniversitieslist selection criterion. Both regions with at least two Tanzanian higher education institutions matching the Topuniversitieslist placement criterion are included in the following Topuniversitieslist sub-rankings or league tables.

Arusha (4)
Dar es Salaam (8)
Dodoma (2)
Iringa (2)
Kilimanjaro (2)
Mbeya (2)
Mjini Magharibi (3)
Morogoro (3)
Mwanza (2)